1

Palaeontological Museum Munich

The museum is the publicly accessible part of the Bavarian State Collection for Palaeontology and Geology. It is dedicated to the history of the earth’s development and of life and displays animal and plant fossils from all periods of the earth’s history.

Address

Richard-Wagner-Straße 10
80333 Munich
Tel.: 089/2180 6630

E-mail: palmuseum@snsb.de

Permanent exhibition

On the ground floor of the atrium, the Palaeontological Museum presents as impressive exhibits large fossils of various vertebrates and plants, which illustrate the evolution and ecological adaptations in these groups, including the first herbivorous prehistoric reptiles, viviparous fish dinosaurs with embryos, giant flying dinosaurs, pave-toothed dinosaurs, the largest Bavarian dinosaur as well as the last dinosaur, mammals of the Ice Age such as the mammoth, giant deer and saber-toothed tiger, and in the center the skeleton of the Mühldorf primeval elephant. The thematic exhibitions on the second floor are dedicated to the documentation of all earth ages (“from the stromatolite to the hamster”), important evolutionary steps of the living world (“Archaeopteryx, the primeval bird”) and the animal world of Bavaria 16 million years ago. Furthermore, temporary exhibitions are presented here.

Click here for the virtual tour

Fossil of the Month

Under this slogan a particularly interesting fossil from the collection is presented every month. For this purpose, a leaflet with information about said fossil is available for free.

Click here for the Fossils of the Month

Guided tours

Scientific tours: Guided tours by in-house scientists for groups on special topics (e.g. evolution) by appointment. palmuseum@snsb.de

Guided tours for children and schools: Guided tours especially suitable for children can be booked at buchung@mpz.bayern.de. Tel.: 089/95 411 52 -20, -21 or -22.

Long Night of Munich Museums

The museum regularly participates in the Long Night of Munich Museums with special activities related to the current temporary exhibition and special lighting effects. Night owls can take a break on their museum tour at the Urweltkaffee.

Munich Mineral Days

For many years, the BSPG has participated with temporary exhibitions and events.

Munich Show

1

Paläontologisches Museum München

Das Museum ist der öffentlich zugängliche Teil der Bayerischen Staatssammlung für Paläontologie und Geologie. Es widmet sich der Entwicklungsgeschichte der Erde und des Lebens und zeigt Fossilien von Tieren und Pflanzen aus allen Epochen der Erdgeschichte.

Anschrift

Richard-Wagner-Straße 10
80333 München
Tel.: 089/2180 6630

E-mail: palmuseum@snsb.de

Dauerausstellung

Im Erdgeschoß des Lichthofes präsentiert das Paläontologische Museum als eindrucksvolle Schauobjekte Großfossilien von verschiedenen Wirbeltieren und Pflanzen, die die Evolution und ökologischen Anpassungen bei diesen  Gruppen verdeutlichen, unter anderem die ersten pflanzenfressenden Urreptilien, lebendgebärende Fischsaurier mit Embryonen, Riesenflugsaurier, Pflasterzahnsaurier, den größten bayerischen sowie den letzten Dinosaurier, Säugetiere der Eiszeit wie Mammut, Riesenhirsch und Säbelzahntiger, und im Mittelpunkt das Skelett des Mühldorfer Urelefanten. Die thematischen  Ausstellungen im zweiten Stock sind der Dokumentation aller Erdzeitalter („vom Stromatolith zum Hamster“), wichtiger Evolutionsschritte der Lebewelt („Urvogel Archaeopteryx“) und der Tierwelt Bayerns vor 16 Millionen Jahren gewidmet. Des weiteren werden hier wechselnde Sonderausstellungen präsentiert.

Auf zum virtuellen Rundgang

Fossil des Monats

Unter diesem Motto wird jeden Monat ein besonders interessantes Fossil aus der Sammlung vorgestellt. Hierzu ist ein Faltblatt mit Informationen zu diesem Fossil frei erhältlich.

Zu den Fossilien des Monats

Führungen

Wissenschaftliche Führungen: Führungen durch Wissenschaftler des Hauses für Gruppen zu speziellen Themen (z.B. Evolution) nach Vereinbarung. palmuseum@snsb.de

Führungen für Kinder und Schulen: Führungen, die sich insbesondere für Kinder eignen, können beim buchung@mpz.bayern.de gebucht werden. Tel.: 089/95 411 52 -20, -21 oder -22.

Lange Nacht der Münchner Museen

Das Museum beteiligt sich regelmäßig an der Langen Nacht der Münchner Museen mit speziellen Aktionen zur aktuellen Sonderausstellung und besonderen Beleuchtungseffekten. Im Urweltkaffee können die Nachtschwärmer eine Pause auf der Museumstour einlegen.

Münchner Mineralientage

Die BSPG beteiligt sich seit vielen Jahren mit Sonderausstellungen und Aktionen.

Munich Show